Using Slide Masters to apply components and styles to all slides

The Slide Master tab provides frequently used functions as icons in the master view stated, such as view master, edit master, master layout, theme, background, and page setup.

Steps

To insert slide master

  1. Click View > Master Views > Slide Master.
    Or click the Slide Master icon on the View tab.
  2. The Slide Master tab appears as you switch to the slide master screen.
  3. Click the Insert Slide Master icon.
  4. A new master is added under the tree structure of the currently selected master or layout.
  5. Click the Close icon on the Slide Master tab to return to the default view state from the slide master view.
    Or you can also click the close icon (x) next to the Slide Master tab name to close the master view screen.

More Information

Slide Master Tab

You can add, delete, or rename slide masters or layouts, or you can select slide master and then set it to preserve.

Steps

To enable or disable preserve master

  1. Click View > Master Views > Slide Master.
    Or click the Slide Master icon on the View tab.
  2. When you are in the slide master view, select the thumbnail of the master in the slide master tree.
  3. Click the Preserve Master icon.
  4. Next to the master thumbnail of the slide master tree, the preserve master icon () is applied.
  5. If a master is inserted with the preserve master icon is applied by clicking Insert Slide Master, select the thumbnail and click the Preserve Master icon.
  6. “A master that is not set to be preserved will not be used on any slide. Do you want to remove this master?” message is displayed. Click OK.
  7. The master is removed.

To clean master

  1. Click View > Master Views > Slide Master.
    Or click the Slide Master icon on the View tab.
  2. When you are in the slide master view, select the thumbnail of the master in the slide master tree and click right button.
  3. Select New Slide Master from the context menu.
  4. Click the Clean Master icon.
  5. Do you want to delete all the unused slide masters including Preserve Master in this file?” message is displayed. Click OK.
  6. The master that you added is removed, and the Clean Master icon is disabled.

Notes

Preserve slide master

The Preserve Master icon on the Slide Master tab is activated only when the slide master is selected in the master tree.

If you set Preserve Master on a slide master, the preserve master icon () appears in the slide thumbnail of the master tree.

If you add a new slide master, the master is inserted with the preserve master icon () applied in the thumbnail of the master tree, and the icon is removed when you click to deselect the Preserve Master icon again on the Slide Master tab.

Masters with the preserve master function applied will remain on the master tree even if there are no more slides using that master, but the masters without it will automatically be removed from the master tree.

Insert Layout Image Collection

Provides a layout image collection to allow you to add a layout after selecting a master in the slide master tree.

The layout image collection consisting of Text LayoutContent LayoutText and Content Layout, and Other Layout unfolds.

Cleaning masters

The Clean Master icon on the Slide Master tab is activated if you added a New Slide Master in the master tree, or if you have multiple masters that are not used in a single file.

Using Clean Master will delete unnecessary masters that are not in use, thus reducing the overall file size and speeding up file opening and saving.

To use Clean Master when saving a document, set File > Options > File > Save > Clean unused slide masters when saving files.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful